An Average Site

status: Bilbo Bloggins





June 2024

Return to main blog


Minecraft Version History Playthrough (1.0.0/1.1)

6/30/24

A week or so back I had this Idea to play through every single major Minecraft Update so I could a) start a long term world and b) learn how to properly play the game. I originally started with version 1.0.0, but I then realized version 1.1 was mostly a QoL update, so I quickly upgraded the world. I soon got into the groove of things, completing several Achievements (in the milestone sense of the word, now known as Advancments) along the way. I eventually took to clearing most of the surrounding forest and lighting up the rest of the area, and now I have a nice base of operations and spawn area. I have started the "On A Rail" Achievement, which requires one to create a railway 1000 blocks long (or 1km). I still have to create a strip mine so I can find diamonds, but for now I'm living pretty well. I may end up streaming the rest of the updates after I finish Trade School.

Note: If you have Intel Integerated Graphics and Windows 11, you might have trouble getting the saves to work in versions older than 1.8 because of a graphical bug.


Website Issues in Firefox

6/24/24

While I was adding the Media page, I noticed that Firefox has this weird issue where it displays basic HTML wrong. I added a link to the navbar for the page, and it is not formatting the navbar with any of the css elements I added, which work perfectly fine on a Chromium-based browser like MS Edge.

I couldn't figure out how to resolve this issue via HTML so for now I would suggest using a Chromium-based browser to view the webpage, as that is what I am using to develop it. If you have the know-how, or even an idea on how to fix it, please contact me.

Update: They fixed the navbar issue so use whatever browser you like :).


Fallout 4 Modding Retry (Success)

6/17/24

I decided to try to mod Fallout 4 again, and it turned out quite differently this time than it did before, as I decided to not only follow some guides for a more stable Fallout 4 (This one, and This one), but to learn a new mod manager (Mod Organizer 2 (will be refered to as MO2 from here on)). It was fairly easy following the guides, but learning MO2 was a bit tougher, though I am a fairly quick learner.

Once I got the base down, I hadn't experienced any hitches so I started installing mods on top. I built my modlist up to ~220 mods and then I tested it, and it worked flawlessly. But It didn't last long, because when I played for a bit longer and got to the bridge between Sanctuary Hills and Red Rocket, the bridge had no collision. so I looked it up and it turned out that the mod Previsibines Repair Pack had to be loaded at the bottom of the load order and that it was best to sort my load order with a tool called Load Order Optimization Tool (LOOT for short) which I had been avoiding because it completely messed up my load order last time. After I had gotten that sorted I had to restart to see the effects, which is extraneous because of the fact you have to play through the extremely script-heavy Pre-War sequence every time. So I downloaded a mod that allowed me to skip the Pre-War sequence and come out of Vault 111 with a basic set of loot. I had no issues the first time I used it, but after some of another mod's scripts got "overwritten" the mod started throwing up a modal dialouge every time I loaded into a game, so when I started a new game, the modal dialog tried to pop up, which interfered with the Fast Start mod. I was able to remove it, because thankfully I had no other mods that depended on it.

I continued installing more mods, using LOOT to sort the LO after every mod. Eventually I installed a mod called Pip-Boy Flashlight because I thought it would help the atmosphere of the game, but the mod ended up causing a conflict with a Pip=Boy replacer mod that I used. At first I thought I had reached the BA2 limit, so I extracted the Pip-Boy replacer mod, but it didn't help, so I went to download another replace mod, but I saw that it had a patch for the mod Pip-Boy Flashlight, so I looked to see if the mod had a patch, and it did, but I decided that I didn't actually need the other mod, so I just uninstalled it.

I am now sitting happily at 320 mods, with a perfectly running game. This just goes to show, with the right know-how and enough elbow grease, you can get anything working well. I may eventually decide that I want that last mod, and install the patch, but for now I'm happy as can be (for a Bethesda game, and one that is as f*cked as Fallout 4 is, that is).

My Modlist | My Load Order